Skip to main content

COVID-19 Information | View up-to-date information about RDC's response

Alberta Colleges Economic Recovery Task Force issues initial recommendations to support provincial economic recovery

Thursday, July 23, 2020

RDC is a proud partner on the Alberta Colleges Economic Recovery Task Force

RDC is part of Alberta’s 11 Comprehensive Community Colleges (CCCs), which are working together to find innovative ways to support Alberta's economic recovery during these unique times. This media release has been prepared by Grande Prairie Regional College on behalf of the CCCs across Alberta.

The Alberta Colleges Economic Recovery Task Force has released its 15 initial recommendations identifying how Alberta’s colleges can support and expedite local, provincial and national economic recovery, create future competitive job market growth and tackle the unprecedented challenges resulting from the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Chaired by Grande Prairie Regional College (GPRC) President and CEO Dr. Robert Murray, the Task Force has outlined recommendations in their initial findings regarding workforce data, micro-credentialing, work-integrated learning and innovation that will leverage the competitive strengths and agility of Alberta’s 11 Comprehensive Community Colleges (CCCs) in enhancing Alberta’s economic competitiveness.

“The Task Force has built their recommendations based on the economic growth, stability, and community connection Alberta’s colleges provide,” said Dr. Murray. “Alberta’s colleges have played, and will continue to play, a pivotal role in our province’s economic resiliency by addressing growing industry demands and immediate programming needs. The speed at which we can adjust to meet market needs is a cornerstone of our college system, and these initial recommendations reflect that flexibility. Our collective goals remain to create long-term opportunities for our communities to build Alberta’s and Canada’s economic strength.”

The Task Force’s initial recommendations focus on four key areas:

  • Workforce Data:
    • Coordinating workforce data analysis to drive decisions identifying necessary skills for a globally competitive workforce. Analyzing gaps in reskilling, upskilling and skill shifts in Alberta’s existing and prospective workforce at all three levels of government will provide insight into current sector employment demographics and needs.
  • Micro-Credentialing:
    • Developing programming to address Alberta’s most immediate skills needs and shortages. Implementing new micro-credential programming directly correlating to in-demand skills will result in support to local businesses acquiring experienced, educated and knowledgeable personnel to improve professional practice while elevating student success.
  • Work-Integrated Learning:
    • Designing work-integrated learning programs, specifically technology and computer programs, focused on supporting in-field employment in areas of need with lasting effects. Alberta’s colleges work with students, industry and the Government of Alberta to develop work-integrated learning programming focused on bridging employment gaps with collaborative solutions.
  • Innovation:
    • Redefining the roles of Alberta’s colleges in the provincial innovation ecosystem by commercializing made-in-Alberta innovation, and providing solutions leading to a globally competitive workforce. This includes focusing colleges’ expertise in applied research to significantly benefit students, contribute to economic productivity, and help community organizations and business partners achieve their innovation potential and competitive advantage.

“As we navigate the ongoing global pandemic and economic shocks, these recommendations are aimed at helping to support, complement, and operationalize the Government of Alberta’s Economic Recovery Plan,” said Dr. Murray. “Alberta’s colleges have always been leaders in their regions supporting local research and innovation while meeting local business and industry needs. It is imperative Alberta’s colleges are embedded in federal, provincial, and local economic recovery through education and skills development.”

Read all the Alberta Colleges Economic Recovery Task Force Initial Recommendations.

The members of the Task Force include:

  • Dr. Robert Murray, Economy Recovery Task Force Chair and President and CEO at Grande Prairie Regional College
  • Dr. Paula Burns, President and CEO at Lethbridge College
  • Nancy Broadbent, President and CEO at Portage College
  • Dr. Peter Nunoda, President at Red Deer College
  • Elan MacDonald, Senior Vice-President at Global Public Affairs
  • Joseph Lougheed, Partner at Dentons Canada LLP
  • Lynette Tremblay, Vice-President, Strategy and Innovation at Edmonton Global
  • Justin Riemer, Assistant Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Western Economic Diversification, Government of Canada
  • Joan Hertz, Board Chair at ATB Financial
  • Bill Werry, Executive Director at the Council of Post-Secondary Presidents of Alberta serves as an observer to the Task Force.
  • Peter Leclaire, Assistant Deputy Minister, Advanced Learning and Community Partnerships Division, Government of Alberta serves as an observer to the Task Force.


Alberta’s 11 Comprehensive Community Colleges (Bow Valley College, Grande Prairie Regional College, Keyano College, Lakeland College, Lethbridge College, Medicine Hat College, NorQuest College, Northern Lakes College, Olds College, Portage College and Red Deer College) meet the needs of more than 55,000 learners across the entire province, providing relevant, high-quality programs that benefit both local and provincial economies.

For additional information, please contact:

Shelley Newman
Communications Strategist - Corporate
shelley [dot] newman [at] rdc [dot] ab [dot] ca

Brent Forster
Communications Strategist - Corporate
brent [dot] forster [at] rdc [dot] ab [dot] ca ( )

Contact Us

RDC Inquiries

Mon-Fri 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Main Phone: 403.342.3400
Toll-free: 1.888.732.4630 (in Canada only)
Email: inquire [at] rdc [dot] ab [dot] ca

Virtual Tour

Get to Know Us
View our Faculty & Staff Biographies

/** External Tracking Script for Extended Education site **/